cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF: DR/BDR election

Chris Lane
Level 1
Level 1

I have two P2P links both running parellel from router rtrA=======rtrB. The second link (backup)always hangs in exchange state with too many retransmittions. I am fairly new to OSPF, i think this is because both links are fighting to be the BDR. Not sure what to do. Any suggestions appreciated.

5 Replies 5

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Chris

If the links are Point to Point then the issue is not fighting to be the BDR. On P2P links there is no election of DR or BDR in OSPF.

It might help to start with posting the config of both routers. Also it would be helpful if you post the output of show ip ospf interface.

To resolve this we may need to run some debugs, but lets start with the config and interface information and see if we can find some answer.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Here is a debug. rtrA has lo0=RTR ID and interface x.x.x.x/30 to rtrB Same for rtrB.

Here is a snippet of my debug.

20:39.940: OSPF: Send DBD to x.x.x.x on Vlan50 seq 0x13DA opt 0x52 flag 0x7 len 32

Jul 16 13:20:39.940: OSPF: First DBD and we are not SLAVE

Jul 16 13:20:40.141: OSPF: Rcv DBD from x.x.x.x on Vlan50 seq 0x13DA opt 0x52 flag 0x2 len 1172 mtu 1500 state EXSTART

Jul 16 13:20:40.141: OSPF: NBR Negotiation Done. We are the MASTER

Jul 16 13:20:39.940: OSPF: 2 Way Communication to x.x.x.x on Vlan 50 state 2WAY

priority for both links are default (1)

sorry if this isn't enough.

Chris

I am puzzled about a couple of things. Your original post described a problem of hanging in Exchange State with too many retransmissions. But this debug does not show that at all.