cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Problem with IP level of a configuration

godzilla0
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everybody ! I'm a CNNA student right now and I'm on a problem. Recently I purchased a cisco 1700 router and I configured it with my inet provider data, and It's working. I mean, the remote host give me my public internet address, and everything is fine. The only problem with this is that ;D I can't ping the internet from inside the router and even less from a PC.( I can't access the inet so ) I will attach my config file, that way you can check it and maybe you can help me. I'm thirsty to learn, and If I pass this one it will be great for my experience configuring provider access. Thanks everybody.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
12 Replies 12

Edison Ortiz
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Do you know if you are getting a valid IP from your provider ?

You can verify this IP by typing

show ip interface brief

A routable IP must be listed under ATM0.1

You can also try pinging an internet device by IP instead of name, this way you can isolate a DNS issue - please do so at the router before moving to the workstation level.

Hi ! I think I'll learn a lot from the official forums, what a fast response, thanks ! Look, this is what show ip interface brief dumps :

Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol

ATM0 unassigned YES NVRAM up up

ATM0.1 89.128.227.208 YES DHCP up up

BRI0 unassigned YES NVRAM administratively down down

BRI0:1 unassigned YES unset administratively down down

BRI0:2 unassigned YES unset administratively down down

FastEthernet0 192.168.0.1 YES NVRAM up down

NVI0 unassigned YES unset up up

The IP you can see at the ATM0.1 iface is my public inet IP, so I think it's ok. I can't ping outside. And I can tell you this evening, trying with other parameters I succes pinging the inet, even translating with DNS. But I erased it and now I'm like this again . . I can't remember what I exactly did. Thanks again for your support.