CCNA Starting Salary's

Unanswered Question
Jul 22nd, 2007

For those whowork in the feild or have completed CCNA and gotten started working. What is the average salary a starting CCNA can expect with little to no experience and maybe one other certification like A+? Since experience is limited to classroom lab hours (32 weeks) Is it even possible to secure a job as a network engineer with those qualificatyions and what salary can be expected? All jobs I see for CCNA required 3 to 5 years experience. This is an entry level cert, how am I suppossed to get the 3 to 5 years if Im just starting out????

I have this problem too.
1 vote
Overall Rating: 5 (2 ratings)
bwgray Mon, 07/23/2007 - 06:26

I think it's a misconception to view CCNA as an entry level cert. It may get you an entry level networking job, but it's not an entry level IT cert. Chances are most people have been in IT for a few years prior to tackling it, which is where the 3-5 likely come from...

tlynnm4591 Mon, 07/23/2007 - 06:50

I think that is good insight bwgray. And that is something that all these surveys don't detail unless you read all the statistics behind them. This one listed indicates the average salary for CCNA's at 76000 but that is for all CCNA's, not just entry level CCNA's. So that does not address my question at all.

I think you are right, CCNA is not entry level, becuase no job description I can find for a CCNA is without the 3 to 5 year requirent. So I guess I should ask, what IS the entry point (skills and qualifications) for a network engineer, and what can that person expect to make starting out??

Thanks, bwgray.

jlhainy Tue, 07/24/2007 - 08:08

Actually, Cisco has just announced the new CCENT certifictaion, which IS a entry level cert. It is basically half of the CCNA.