cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco 857 adsl connection problems

kayasaman
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys, first up I would like to say thanks for sorting out my dhcp issues in the getting started with LANS part of the forum!

I have an issue now with my adsl connection. I have set up the dialer 0 and atm 0 interfaces according to this guide:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk175/tk15/technologies_configuration_example09186a008071a601.shtml

and have supplied my ISP settings:

VPI 0

VCI 38

Encapsulation VC/MUX or VC Based

Protocol PPPoA

Mode G.DMT

Authentication CHAP

Preferred MTU 1500 (or as close to as possible)

I have supplied my config as txt file.

Again I'm very new to Cisco so please take things step by step.

Many thanks!

48 Replies 48

kayasaman
Level 1
Level 1

Sorry....... issue is that it's not connecting to ISP and I have no internet access :-(

Hi,

please send output of "show atm pvc 0/38" and "term mon" "debug ppp neg".

Here are the outputs of the atm pvc and debug ppp. I typed in term mon but it didn't come up with anything so I'm guessing it turned on terminal monitor or something?

(again I'm brand new to Cisco so I'm having to learn step by step!)

Hi, PVC 0/38 does not receive packets. Please check that you have the right number, and the ADSL port is connected, do check "show dsl interface". And yes, "term mon" enables the telnet terminal to monitor debug and other system events.

It says: line has not been activated yet

I didn't put any config into the atm0 interface interms of pvc, chap authentication, mtu, and line encapsulation, as all my ISP data went to the dialer0 interface which I thought dialled through the atm0. If I am mistaken then will I have to rebuild the atm0 interface with the info from the dialer0 interface?

Ok rectifying my statement since I think I'm getting myself confused: "I didn't put any config into the atm0 interface interms of pvc, chap authentication, mtu, and line encapsulation"

I used these commands: