Router 837 - config modified save? yes/no

Unanswered Question
Aug 1st, 2007

I have just transferred a new IOS image file to a Cisco 837 router and had to erase the one that was already there due to space and it's saying "system configuration has been modified. save yes/no" I want to reboot the router (reload).

Yes or no?

I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 4.5 (2 ratings)
Loading.
Edison Ortiz Wed, 08/01/2007 - 07:50

Before you enter (Yes/No) verify your startup config and compare it with your running config.

For instance, at the router type:

show startup-config

(copy and paste this configuration in notepad)

then

show running-config

(do the same copy and paste on a new notepad instance)

If the differences from the running config vs the startup-config are things that you don't want, then reply 'No'.

If there are things in the running-config that you want to keep that aren't in the startup-config, then reply 'Yes'.

spremkumar Wed, 08/01/2007 - 20:01

Hi Whiteford

You need to save the config and will boot with the new ios but with the same config.

But make sure the features supported by the previous software code are supported by the new one otherwise u will get invalid commands or un supported commands during the bootup with the new ios.

regds

Actions

This Discussion