Views
Helpful
Replies

MDS 9216i Configuration Help Required

kamal.kannan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to MDS 9000. I am setting up an Environment for Replication. I have following basics questions

1. The customer has bought MDS9216i and he didn?t receive any additional licenses along with the pack ..Do we need any extra license for SAN Extension?

2. I was able to introduce this switch with the existing fabric by creating the VSAN (interopmod1) and I have configured Gigabit Eth port and FCIP profile ..But the Gigabit Eth port shows the status as down. Not able to ping to the Gigabit Eth port.

3. It will be great .if some one can brief the steps for configuring the FCIP

Please Help me out

8 Replies 8

colin.mcnamara
Level 4
Level 4

The 9216i should include a 2 port fcip license for the standard gig ethernet ports.

If you can't ping an interface, you really should deal with that first. Things to check are -

1. Does the interface have an ip address assigned ?

2. Is the interface plugged into a switch?

3. Is the interface administratively disabled.

You can answer these questions by opening device manager, double clicking on the port in question, and looking at the output.

Here is the link to the IP storage configuration docs -

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/sn5000/mds9000/3_0/clicnfg/part6/index.htm

Here is FCIP specifically.

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/sn5000/mds9000/3_0/clicnfg/part6/cfcip.htm

One thing I would recommend, is that if you are new to FCIP setups, read the docs above to understand base functionality, but then just use fabric manager and the FCIP wizard. It makes FCIP creation really simple.

If you found this helpful please rate it.

Colin McNamara

CCIE - Storage Networking #18233

inch
Level 3
Level 3

Hi, Colin is correct with the licensing.

You might want to check to see if the interface is administratively down or just down.