cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Class C Subnetting

Kristoff
Level 1
Level 1

I know this is probably pretty basic for most of you, but I am a bit new to this and in need of assistance. I have a Cisco 2851 Router with a pair of Cisco 3560 Switches connected to it. It is a small LAN with a network address of 172.17.1.0/24. A customer (big customer) wants me to subnet my network to a /28 network to make it easier for them to configure VPN connection from our network into their system. All IPs are statically asssigned (cannot use DHCP due to an application we use). Is establishing this /28 scheme simply a matter of reassigning IPs and changing the SN Mask to 255.255.255.240? Is it true the that first and last subnets are unusable(172.17.1.0 - 172.17.1.15 & 172.17.1.240 - 172.17.1.255)? Are there any changes I need to make in the Router and/or Switches to facilitate this? By subnetting, will this result in communications between subnets being forced through the router or will communications still be handled at the switch level? Any asssitance is greatly appreciated.

5 Replies 5

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

1) Yes you will need to modify the subnet masks and change the default gateway on each of your machines.

2) You can use first and last subnets. Your 2800 will have ip subnet zero on by default.

3) On the switch you will have to create the extra vlans needed.

On the router you will need to create the extra layer 3 interfaces unless one of your switches could run as a layer 3 switch.

4) Yes communication between subnets will now have to through the router.

An example might help

You have 172.17.1.0/24 at the moment. You create

172.17.1.0/28

172.17.1.16/28

172.17.1.32/28

... etc

A machine that has an ip address of 172.16.1.34 will now need changing ie.

172.16.1.34 255.255.255.240

but it's default gateway will also need changing - this would become