Home Lad

Unanswered Question
Aug 9th, 2007
User Badges:

I am currently studying for my CCNA. I have done the courses, and as they say, I need practise, practise, and more practise.

I have been able to obtain 2 3600 routers, 3 2600 routers, and 2950 switches. All of these are in good working order.

I have been reading a lot about creating a home lab, especially if I wish to progress to the CCNP later, but I am struggling to find any diagrams, configurations and the worst one is cables.

I have a mixture of serial connections on all routers, which are either WIC1/T or WIC2T, and these can be swooped around.

Can someone please advice me on how to connect my switches and routers using the serial ports, and where I can find the correct cables (DCE/DTE) as I am having problems sourcing them.

Overall Rating: 5 (4 ratings)
Edison Ortiz Thu, 08/09/2007 - 07:59
User Badges:
  • Super Bronze, 10000 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

Founding Member

The routers will connect to the switch from their ethernet port to the switchport by using a regular CAT5,5e,6 cable.

As for DCE/DTE cables, the best source for cheap prices would be eBay.

Go to ebay.com and enter DCE/DTE Cables in the search field and you will find plenty of auctions. Choose the length that will accomodate your needs. I find the 6 footers to be the ideal length for labs. Make sure to get the DB60 Male/Male kind as they have the correct pinout for your serial card.

The cable will be marked as DCE on one end and DTE as the other end. The router connected on the DCE end must have the clock rate command under the interface so there can be communication. In other words, the clocking is controlled by the DCE device, without clocking the serial line will be down.

HTH,

dobsonl1954 Thu, 08/09/2007 - 08:12
User Badges:

Hi EdisonOrtiz,

I thought I could do that with the net work interfaces.

However, I wanted to use the serial interfaces as that was what everyone seemed to mention for the CCNA/CCNP studies.