Certifacation Track

Unanswered Question
Aug 9th, 2007

Hello All,

Let me start off by saying that this is my first time learning about this site which I think is a great tool. Now I am an "old" CCNA and on course to take the newer versions of the CCNA/DA. Now my question is since Cisco has got a lot of new "paths" to take after the CCNA, which of these are in Demand? I know that it depends on what you want to go into but for me I am trying to "Specialize" in a field as I know it is tough to have full knowledge of both Voice and Security.

Some combos I hear in the real world, all of these suggestions are of what I hear and just need some clarification:

CCNP/CCSP - Is this necessary or just CCSP is enough? You learn the routing part in CCSP already?Right?

CCNP/CCSP/CCDP - Overkill?

CCNP/CCVP - Necessary?

Now there is a CCIP which I know is more for service providers so I am wondering if anyone will be doing the CCIP in conjunction with having it with their CCNP or CCSP? Is the CCIP even in demand and does it further your knowledge of routing or some other types of protocols?

Thanks for any input and suggestions.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
srue Fri, 08/10/2007 - 01:00

CCNP/CCSP - you definitely only learn *minimal* routing by just doing the CCSP. CCNP is a great compliment to CCSP , and vice versa.

CCNP/CCSP/CCDP - i dont think so, but i'm biased

CCNP/CCVP - i've heard differing opinions here. It's possible to do the CCVP w/o doing the CCNP, and even without having the knowledge base of a CCNP. Doing both will make you a better rounded *voice* engineer though.

CCIP - i've personally never seen this cert listed in a job description. But I have seen the *skill set* in a job description.