Views
Helpful
Replies

vlan configure

ilnaiduccna
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

Can we assign same vlan in different switches in different networks.

eg: vlan 90, 91, 92 assigned for Switch 2 and the same vlan 90, 91, 92 assigned in Switch 3, both switches in different locations & networks this will work out?

Thanks in advance

Naidu.

7 Replies 7

ycae
Level 1
Level 1

You have to create a trunk between the 2 switches so that computers from vlan 90 on switch 2 can talk to computers on vlan 90 on switch 3.

Yves

Hi Yves,

Ok can we create trunk between the 2 switches,

The 2 switches in different locations now can we create trunk in between these, if yes how can you tell what are the commands to create trunk between 2 switches, it may be simple to you but I am new to this things. Plz. kindly give clear information.

Naidu.

Hi,

Well it is quite simple. Let's assume that you have a 100/fdx port on both switches. Let's assume that the ports are 0/1 for both switches. Interconnect these ports with a cross-over cable. On both switches you can do the following

conf t

interface fastethernet 0/1

switchport mode trunk

Do this on both switches.

You can also create a vtp domain. A vtp domain will help to configure the vlans only on one switch and that the vlans are automaticaly replicated to the second switch.

Let's say on switch 2 you execute the following

vtp domain MyDomain

vtp mode server

on switch 3 you say

vtp domain MyDomain

vtp mode client

Like this any vlan you create on switch 2 will be replicated to switch 3. It is also recommended to only have one server in your vtp domain.

I would suggest to do this in a lab so that you can train yourself a bit and play around with the commands I gave you.

Could you also specify what model of switches you have?

Yves

Hi Yves,

Thank u for ur explaination, my switch model is 2950

One small doubt that how we can interconnect those ports when both switches in different locations.