Views
Helpful
Replies

TCP SYN Host Sweep (3030.0) Firing Excessively

RITgrad2008
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

We recently added a bunch of IPS to our internal networks (we originally only had them on the perimeter). Since we implemented these IPS (running 5.x), we have seen a massive increase in the number of TCP SYN Host Sweeps.

I looked a little further into the traffic, and it appears a lot of it is traffic to port 80 on external addresses (I'm guessing its websites with ads, etc. that are causing most of these ones).

However, there are a great deal of connections going to seemingly arbitrary ports to many different network ranges. The part that worries me the most is that a lot of the SYN sweeps go to internal AND external addresses.

I have been unable to determine the exact cause of the SYN sweeps but it appears that a majority of our clients are doing it.

I am only an intern, so my knowledge (and access to such knowledge) is rather limited.

I was wondering if anyone had any similar experiences? If so, is there a good way to weed out the false positives from the potentially important alerts?

Best Regards,

Ryan

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

We use Intellitactics NSM as our SEM and it works very well for our environment (because it is very programmable and we love to tinker).

I can't remember the exact changes we've made but this is what we have:

#sh conf | begin 3030

signatures 3030 0

engine sweep

unique 50

protocol tcp

storage-key Axxb

specify-port-range yes

port-range 1-24,26-79,81-442,444-2966,2968-65534

The part of this signature that works for us is our platform (NSM) will create an alert when we see 100 of these signatures within a specific time period. That lets us know that some time of scanning is ongoing (note that busy HTTP, DNS, & FTP servers will trigger this sig on return traffic so filtering & profiling is important).

View solution in original post

17 Replies 17

rmeans
Level 3
Level 3