Viewing command privilege levels

Unanswered Question
Aug 26th, 2007

How do you view the different privelege levels per command?

Is there online documentation which list the privilege levels?


I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
mohammedmahmoud Sun, 08/26/2007 - 22:26


By default, there are three command levels on the router:

privilege level 0 - Includes the disable, enable, exit, help, and logout commands.

privilege level 1 (User EXEC mode - disable mode)- Normal level on Telnet; includes all user-level commands at the router> prompt.

privilege level 15 (Privilege EXEC mode - enable mode) - Includes all enable-level commands at the router# prompt.

Note For the different commands supported at each level you can simply access the router in each of the levels and do a "?".

However, you can configure additional levels of access to commands (User defined privilege levels: 2 - 14 ), called privilege levels, to meet the needs of your users while protecting the system from unauthorized access. Up to 16 privilege levels can be configured, from level 0, which is the most restricted level, to level 15, which is the least restricted level.

Higher level inherits the lower level commands by default.

To check the current privilege > Show privilege

To move between the privilege levels > enable <0-15>.


Mohammed Mahmoud.


This Discussion