cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

6509 configuration with FWSM

amadeusri
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all, Im very new to configuring networking equipment (only been working with it for about 8 months) and I have been given a cisco 6509 with the fwsm to configure. The problem is I cant get it to work properly and was wondering if there was anywhere where I could get some sample configurations? Im trying to set it up to sit on the edge of our network and use it as a firewall/router with the fwsm and the sup720.

What I am trying to do is have the firewall sit between 2 vlans 10 (inside) 113(outside) and all traffic should pass thru it.

Im not expecting someone to do the configs and then post them, I just learn quicker by looking at something for an example and Ive had zero luck with this for the past month, any help will be greatly appreciated.

13 Replies 13

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

Which version of code are you running on FWSM ? To see this run a "sh mod" on the 6500 switch.

Are you looking to use the FWSM in transparent or routed mode ?

Jon

FWSM Firewall Version 2.3(4)

FWSM Device Manager Version 4.1(3)

I want to use it in routed mode.

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

Okay i'll assume that the vlans are already created on your 6500 switches at layer 2.

I'll also assume, as i didn't ask !, that your are running in single context mode.

Mainly my fault because i didn't ask for enough info but it is unclear whether vlan 10 is an isolated vlan that only connects to the FWSM or whether this is a routed vlan off the MSFC. Lets assume it is isolated at present.

1) First thing do a "sh mod" and note down which slot the FWSM is in. lets assume slot 7

2) Allocate the vlans to the FWSM ie.

firewall vlan-group 7 10,13

Note that the vlan-group number (7 in this case) must match your slot number from 1)

If you have two 6500 chassis with a FWSM for failover you must do this on both switches as this config does not automatically replicate.