cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Route Summarization

timothykerr
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all, I am studying for my CCNP and am going through different scenarios on my testebd at home. I am trying to perform route summarization on a few subnets I have configured to some loopback interfaces. I have the following IPS:

Loopback0 - 10.0.10.0 255.255.255.0

Loopback1 - 10.0.11.0 255.255.255.0

Loopback2 - 10.0.12.0 255.255.255.0

Loopback3 - 10.0.13.0 255.255.255.0

I want to summarize those 4 routes out the Serial 0 interface. I am running EIGRP with no autosummarization in place. I have the following network statements in there:

network 10.0.10.0 0.0.0.255

network 10.0.11.0 0.0.0.255

network 10.0.12.0 0.0.0.255

network 10.0.13.0 0.0.0.255

Any help you can provide would be very helpful. I have researched it for a while and found nothing. I now turn to the expertise of my colleagues.

Thanks,

Tim

9 Replies 9

akimalijbsk8r
Level 1
Level 1

Excuse me if I'm wrong. But let me preface my answer with the fact that I'm getting ready to take my CCNA at the end of the month. That being said, wouldn't those routes get summarized as follows...

network 10.0.8.0 0.0.7.255

Akim

Akim

You are correct that the optimum address block that includes these addresses is 10.0.8.0/29.

And your statement would be effective if the intent was to include all interfaces with a single command. But it does not summarize anything.

Tim

To summarize on the serial interface you need this statement under the serial interface:

ip summary-address eigrp 10.0.8.0 255.255.248.0

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Hi Rick,

Thank you for your response as well. This would also work (and I have done it before), however, it would also include more routes than I want to summarize. I realize that the subnets I picked are not ideal for proper route summarization. However, that is why I selected them. I want to know if there is a way to do that.