cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Need model recommendation for Dual WAN rounter

arthurwang2007
Level 1
Level 1

I am not an expert of routers, our business has a T1 line and a DSL line from different ISP. Our current configuration is Mac users use one of them, and PC users use the other. Since none of the internet service is stable enough for our need. Once a while, one of them is down, we have to manually switch one of the group users to the other.

After searching on google, I found there are so called dual WAN router with failover and load balance functions, this is what I need.

Please look at this article:

"We recently tested five dual-WAN routers - the ZyWall 70 from Zyxel Communications; TZ 170 from SonicWall; XC-DPG602 from Xincom; H2WR54G from Hawking Technologies; and FortiGate-60 from Fortinet - and focused on their ability to control a WAN connection and other features. We also tested the Safe@Office 225 from Check Point, which only offers failover but not concurrent access (see story)."

All above looks like are for consumer user, not for business users. If there is CISCO DUAL WAN router or firewall, or anything like this, I definitely would prefer to choose.

So anyone here can recommend a DUAL WAN router from CISCO with failover and load balance functions? The router can accept service from both T1 and DSL. Does 1800 serials work for my need? is it able to connect T1 line?

thanks for any suggestion.

Arthur

6 Replies 6

lgijssel
Level 9
Level 9

Looks like you are in fact lookling for a solution to make your Internet access more reliable.

This requires a solution that is tailored to your needs. The solution that I am thinking of would require several routers, one for each WAN-link and a central router to redirect the traffic. You cannot use a PIX as this is just a firewall with few routing capabilities.

You can check wheter your WAN-link is active using so-called reliable static routing: