cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

2900 router problems

sirEgGhEaD
Level 1
Level 1

howdy. i'm fairly new to cisco stuff. i have an entire collection of cisco books, but i'm not too far in them. currently i'm deployed to iraq and one of my warrant officers here is a cisco instructor. i've learned some stuff from him and learned some stuff on my own. i've presented my situation to him, but it's extremely hard to learn from him in the first place because he's a little off the wall. but besides that, i don't know enough.

i'm a systems adminstrator here in iraq and head of the helpdesk. i've been in IT for over 20 years. i have experience, just not when it comes to this.

so enough of the intro. we have the internet here in our rooms that we pay way too much for. there is one cable for my roommate and myself. we sign into a radius server with a 24 hour lease. the ip addresses are obviously assigned via dhcp. the cable from our room runs to a "dumb" switch. from the switch, a cat5 runs to a line of site radio that shoots to their office down the road. from there they host the internet via satellite obviously.

currently i have a linksys wrt300 acting as my router with the antennas disabled. i need to send this router home to my wife, so my whole grand plan for this expensive router is only to catch the outside ip address given by my isp, and run a dhcp server to host my inside lan. on this switch there are, of course, 2 built-in fastethernet interfaces, a t1/dsu port on the serial interface, and something else that says t1 on the voice interface.