Views
Helpful
Replies

Frame Relay DLCI question?

abdigulaid
Level 1
Level 1

Hello ladies & gentlement,

I have a question that you might be able to help me with. It is regarding Frame-Relay, i seem to have some gaps in my study material... I understand how it mostly works but i feel that something is missing. The question is as follows:

When a router sends a Frame Relay packet accross a VC how does the router know what the correct DLCI iS for the router at the other end of that VC (I understand that mapping is involved but just dont know how this is done), would the Frame Relay Switch (DCE) make changes to the packet?

Answers or guidance would be much appreciated.

3 Replies 3

rodman.frowert
Level 1
Level 1

I'm by no means an expert at all, but from what I remember from my CCNA material, the telco (or whoever your service provider is) talks to your router via LMI. After you call and setup two PVC's and connect them end to end via your T1 or whatever you are using, the router works out what DLCI (via IARP I believe) it needs to use to talk to the other router as soon as you turn on Frame Relay encapsulation.

If, for some reason, your service provider can not talk to your router (perhaps LMI isn't working properly), then you have to map the DLCI's to the IP on the other end...

I am sure you will get a better response than this from other more knowledgable people... But this is laymens turms..

Rodman

Rodman,

Thank you for responding so quickly, your input is much appreciate and is already beginning to help me understand this technology alittle better. Thanks again.

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Abdi