cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

OOB access to a router

mayambanzumba
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to all this, I have been given a telephone number for OOB access, what commands do I enter to connect to a router by OOB.

thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Mayamba

Good. That makes it easier to answer your question. In Windows select Contol Panel, then select Network and Internet connections, then select Create a connection to the network at your workplace. In the window that comes up make sure that the button for dialup is selected and click next. In the New Connection window that comes up you will give this connection a name (something descriptive is helpful). Click next and you get to the screen where you put in the phone number. The next screen you define whether to use smart card or not. On the next screen you click Finish and the wizzard completes the process and creates the connection.

After this you might want to go to the list of network connections, right click on the connection that you have just created, and select properties to view and verify the parameters used to define the connection. The details may depend on your situation but here is what I generally use:

- in the General tab check that the correct modem is selected (in case your PC has more than one choice) and that the phone number is correct (including any access codes that you might need).

-on the Options tab I like to choose Display progress while connecting, Prompt for name and password, and Prompt for phone number.

- on the Security tab I select typical.

- on the Networking tab be sure to select the PPP option.

- on the Advanced tab you select whether you want the Windows firewall on or off.

Then you should be able to connect your PC's modem port to an analog phone line, double click that connection, and establish OOB access to the router. The router should prompt for userID and password and you should have access.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post