Views
Helpful
Replies

CCNA - ACL question

rileymartin
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm studying for the CCNA 640-801 exam and in some study materials there is the following ACL question and I don't understand why the answer is what it is. I was hoping someone in here could help with explaining why. Thanks.

Router1-s0--------s0-Router2-s0--------s0-Router3

___|________________|_______________|____

PCA through PCF all seem to be connected to a common backbone. All three routers appear to also be connected to the same backbone as the PCs. Router1 conects to Router2 which connects to Router3.

PCA - 5.1.1.8/24

PCB - 5.1.1.10/24

PCC - 5.1.2.10/24

PCD - 5.1.2.20/24

PCE - 5.1.3.8/24

PCF - 5.1.3.10/24

You're the systems administrator at Cisco, and you create the following access control lists.

access-list 101 deny tcp 5.1.1.10 0.0.0.0 5.1.3.0 0.0.0.255 eq telnet

access-list 101 permit any any

You then enter the command "ip access-group 101 in" to apply access control list

101 to router1's e0 interface.

Which of the following Telnet sessions will be blocked as a result of your access

lists? (Select all that apply)

A. Telnet sessions from host A to host 5.1.1.10

B. Telnet sessions from host A to host 5.1.3.10

C. Telnet sessions from host B to host 5.1.2.10

D. Telnet sessions from host B to host 5.1.3.8

E. Telnet sessions from host C to host 5.1.3.10

F. Telnet sessions from host F to host 5.1.1.10

Answer D & F

I understand answer D, that is straight forward and easy to understand however I don't understand answer F. The ACL statement, 'access-list 101 deny tcp 5.1.1.10 0.0.0.0' specifically has the source host listed which is not PCF. I would think only addresses matching the source address in the ACL should be blocked. Thanks to anyone who can help.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Riley

I have an issue with their solution and an issue with your solution.