cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Trend Micro

netsec123
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. I am a newbie with this card... What IP address goes in the box when you start the wizard? ANOTHER IP different from the mamagement IP OR an IP address of a management workstation?

16 Replies 16

JORGE RODRIGUEZ
Level 10
Level 10

So do I, but lets read the instrutions on configuring ssm.

Based on the instructions provided by link bellow the ssm needs a unique IP address for management , not the ip address of Management port of security applience but it could be an address under the same subnet the ASA management port is under, the ssm card can also have an IP address of a different inside subnet as long that IP address is permissioned in ASA to manage the device.

Refer to gathering information section

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/security/asa/asa71/getting_started/asa5500/quick/guide/CSC_SSM.html#wp1032118

HTH

Jorge

Jorge Rodriguez

Hi again Jorge. This thing is really kicking my butt. I am now getting this message and cannot get to the CSC at all... I checked the command line interface and there is no reference to the Trend Micro Card to make any changes. Any ideas?

mherald
Level 1
Level 1

I really like this card, but it really lacks in performance. It sounds really good on paper, but it performs poorly in reality.

The IP that goes in there, is a "management IP address" that will be used to access the CSC module software. This IP address is in addition to all other IPs you have used and will correspond to the port on the CSC module itself. You do have to connect this to your switch infrastructure with a patch cable. Even when you click in the ASDM to control the CSC, a web browser will open up (ssl, I think on port 7443 or 8443.

Then say you use an internal IP, and you access the ASDM software remotely, that interface IP needs to be NATed to a public IP and rules for access allowed, or you have to open a VPN connection up.