Views
Helpful
Replies

Content Switching

cisconoval
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I am new to content switching technology. I dont know anything about this. Now my client have requested me to disable a website access from outsite which is hosted on content swtich.

Can some one please give me the step by step command to do the same ASAP as its very urgent?

5 Replies 5

paul.matthews
Level 5
Level 5

If you wans to completely shut off a web site, you need to identify which content rules cover it and suspend them.

conf

own Mysite

content mysite-clear

sus

cont mysite-ssl

sus

for exampe - obviously the owner and content rule will differ!

If you want to disable a particular server providing content, suspend the service:

conf

serv mysite-web1

sus

Just I want to shut off the access from outside only. So what I have to do..

So you want the service to stay up for internal use? If so that gets rather more complex and depends upon what exactly is configued where, and is not just a simple switch off.

To switch a whole logical web server off, it is the first bit I mentioned - suspend the content rule.

P.

client gonna do refresh the content of that site so they want to block the external view of this site. Please let me know even if I suspend this content rule will the user able to do their job?

Thanks

That depends how they do it, and what they expect users to see.

Suspend the content rule, and the web site is off line. Users will not be able to connect at all.

I am presuming there are multiple servers providing the content? There are a number of way the site can stay up while they do this. I will assume they have four real servers providing the content, and that they have an alternate route - ie they do not manage the servers via the web site interface.

1. Action on their part, you do nothing.