Views
Helpful
Replies

%PM-4-ERR_DISABLE: link-flap

Peter.D.Brown
Level 1
Level 1

Hi there,

We've been having speed issues getting out onto the Internet and I'm trying to locate the source of the problem by eliminating a few possibilities. One being mismatched switch config between us and the ISP. Our switch is a 3550G running IOS and the port is a static access port in default vlan 1. This connects via fibre to our ISP's switch which is a 6500 series running Catos. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of Catos so can't definitively decipher the copy of the port config they've sent me. They assure me that their port is a static access port and is hardcoded to 1000Full so I'm trying to make ours hardcoded to 1000Full rather than autonegotiate which it is now.

I'm trying to set the gig port of our 3550G to hardcoded 1000full by issuing the command 'speed nonegotiate'. However every time I do this the port goes error disabled with this message "%PM-4-ERR_DISABLE: link-flap error detected on Gi0/1, putting Gi0/1 in err-disable state".

The port will not come up unless the command 'no speed nonegotiate' is issued, i.e. I can't hard code it, it won't come up unless it is set to autonegotate.

The following is what it negotiates to:

Full-duplex, 1000Mb/s, link type is autonegotiation, media type is SX

The ISP's switch port config that they've sent me is:

#module 6 : 16-port 1000BaseX Ethernet

set vlan 361 6/2

set port name 6/2 u361 CompanyName

set trunk 6/2 off negotiate 1-1005,1025-4094

end

switch3.lhr3> (enable) sh port 6/2

* = Configured MAC Address

Port Name Status Vlan Duplex Speed Type

----- -------------------- ---------- ---------- ------ ----- ------------

6/2 u361 CompanyName connected 361 full 1000 1000BaseSX

Can anybody let me know if their port is indeed hardcoded to 1000Full or is it autonegotiate? And also what could be the reason that our port goes error disabled whenever the command 'speed nonegotiate' is issued.

Thanks in advance.

Pete.