Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS between Cisco 2800 and 1841

jehrmann1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am trying to setup a QoS policy on our routers for better performance of Windows Terminal Server for our remote offices. We have 1841 routers in each remote location connecting into the 2800 series at our main location (spoke and hub). Each office utilizes Remote Desktop software to access Terminal Services, where the servers reside at our main location. 4 offices are using 512 frame relay links (with burstable speeds), while a 5th office has a full T1. Even with the full T1, users complain of sluggishness.

We have new servers each with dual processors, 4 GB of RAM, multiple/fast hard drives, etc. Windows 2003 Server on each server and I they only run a handfull of applications. We've done all we can to optimize the servers and they often run pretty good, but I'm wondering if a QoS policy might improve performance for all involved, particularly the frame relay offices.

I'm not a cisco expert by any stretch of the imagination but have some hands-on experience with configuration, but have never setup a QoS policy before. The routers only run data and do not utilize VoIP or video data across the wan links (occasionally a video will be watched online on the local desktop).

Can anyone offer some guidance on setting up a QoS policy? Whether it be an online guide to using the wizard in the SDM, best practices, or if possible a step-by-step guide using the CLI?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!!!

4 Replies 4

jehrmann1
Level 1
Level 1

Wow. Nothing. I guess this is a topic no one wants to touch?

Your question probably got overlooked because of the forum you selected. I just stumbled across it while doing a search on "QoS". I believe you would get response in the "WAN, Routing and Switching" forum. QoS might indeed help. (Quick test - if remote desktop is only sluggish during peak usage, then QoS might help.)