cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Network configuration

trenshaw614
Level 1
Level 1

I'm not an IT professional, I'm an entry level software developer but I work at a branch office of a small company and our IT department is located at the main office half-way across the country, so I get tasked with most of our local IT issues. We need to temporarily reconfigure our network and I need some advice.

We have a Cisco 2821 router, with no expansion modules. One port is currently running our local network (DHCP), and the other is running a DMZ. The port for out network feeds into a Cisco Catalyst 2950 Switch, which feeds all of the computers on our network. We also have a DLink WebSmart Switch model DGS-1224T which is fed by the Cisco switch, and feeds a small group of computers that we need to assign static IP address to. Our problem is that we need to preserve the connection from the DHCP machines to the static IP machines to allow for remote desktop connections and what not. Can we do this with the hardware that we currently have or do we need some additional hardware?

3 Replies 3

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Trevor

I appreciate the difficulty in being tasked to do things like this when you have little background in it. I hope that we can help you.

There are a couple of things in your explanation that I am not real clear about. I think I understand that the 2821 is connected to a 2950 and the 2950 connects to a DLink switch. But I am not clear whether everything is on a single VLAN or whether multiple VLANs are involved. This would relate to whether all of the machines (both DHCP and static) are in a single subnet or whether there are multiple subnets (since basically a VLAN is a subnet and a subnet is a VLAN). I am also not clear whether the DHCP function is provided by the router or whether there is a separate DHCP server in the network.