cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Network Design/Config questions

chrismcnaught
Level 1
Level 1

Hey all, I'm not a Cisco Engineer or anything like that but I have a small amount of configuration knowledge on Cisco Routers and Switches. My problem is that our Cisco guy has just left and it looks like I'm going to be asked to fill his shoes, anyway enough of my sad story.

My problem is in the drawing attached,

The system at the top of the figure is located at a customer's site which may be anywhere in the world. The system at the bottom is our LAN. The task is to configure the Cisco Routers located at our facility such that:

1. network devices located on LAN1 or LAN2 at our facility can

communicate with network devices located on LAN1 of the system located

at our customer's site using standard IP packets.

Q. So what do I need to do to make this happen? Do both sites need to be running the same routing protocol? (I know a VPN is needed)

2. Intersite communication would not be disrupted by the failure of

either of the two Cisco routers located in my LAN.

Q. Would I need to configure the switches to forward the traffic to the redundant Router if one of them failed?

3. The communication channels over the Internet are secured using VPN

Q. In order for the VPN to work do I need to insert a static route for the remote network.

The ip addresses of the devices connected on LAN1 and LAN2 at both

locations are private reserved addresses

Any help/advice with this would be so gratefully appreciated.

Many thanks

Chris

3 Replies 3

stephen.stack
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Chris,

Hopefully I can help out here. From what I gather you need to configure VPNs between your main site and customers remote site(s). You also need to maintain a level of redundancy for your own LANs internet access and the VPNs to the customers site.