Helpful
Replies

DNS for clients using static IP addresses

farahs123456
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a newbie to Cisco routers and have a basic question:

I am using a dhcp pool to assign DHCP addresses to clients. The DHCP clients also automatically get assigned the DNS server by the router and DNS resolution works fine. However if I have a server that I want to assign a static address to, if I assign it the routers address as the gateway and DNS server then it is unable to do DNS resolution. If I use the "ip dns server" command then this starts working.

My question is what is the best practice for dealing with DNS for static clients? Should I be assigning the same DNS servers directly to the static clients that I am using as name-servers in the router or should I be doing something else (such as ip dns server)?

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Farah,

Your option 1 is the better choice.

If you want to go with option 2 for configuration ease on the clients then the router is getting burdened with additional task of relaying DNS requests to the actual server. This setup would result in use of more CPU cycles on the router for processing DNS requests when the clients could unicast directly with the server for name resolution.

HTH

Sundar

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Farah

It is my understanding of best practice to assign the DNS on clients with static address to be the same as the DNS assigned to clients by DHCP.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Thanks for your response Rick.

So lets say my router is 192.168.1.1. In the setup of the static clients I will be using 192.168.1.1 as the gateway but should I be using the actual DNS server addresses for the DNS and not the router address here?

I was wondering if it was cleaner to use the router address as both the gateway and DNS even for static clients. This of course would require the use of ip dns server int he router.

Farah