cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Deny Access to the Internet

andy
Level 1
Level 1

I am very new to Cisco firewalls(got kinda thrown into it) and I had a request come down the pipe to deny access to the internet for a single internal IP address. My firewall is a PIX 515e. I'm guessing it has to do with the access-list but I don't know if I need to create a group and add that one IP to it or really, even how to go about it. Any help would be appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Andrew

From what you have posted it is difficult to find how the various access lists are applied (how they are being used). But it does seem that you will need another access list. What you want might look something like this:

access-list inside_access_out deny ip host

any

access-list inside_access_out permit ip any any

access-group inside_access_out in interface inside

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Andrew

Yes if you want to deny access for a particular host then you need an access list. If there is an existing access list used for the inside interface you would add another entry to the list which would deny access for that specific host. If there is not an access list used for the inside interface then you would need to create an access list. The first statement in the access list would deny the specific host to 0.0.0.0 and the second statement in the access list would be permit any any. You would then use the access-group statement to assign the access list to the inside interface.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

There are access lists setup(included partial config). All access lists are shown in the config with the important stuff omitted. The situation is basically: