Failed 801. Studying for 802.

Unanswered Question
Nov 4th, 2007

Well I took the 640-801 on 11/2 and failed with a 783.

I thought I was prepared for the exam after spending many many hours over several months studying, but I guess not.

My question now is how to start studying for the 640-802? I have just ordered the Wendel Odom library for the new exam, but I feel like I am now starting from scratch and that it will be months again before I am ready to test.

Is anyone else out there in this situation, and does anyone have any advice??

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 3 (1 ratings)
kipstylee Sun, 11/04/2007 - 19:28

I'm in the same boat, i studied on and off for a year for 801, even took a $2000 3 week crash course type class that paid for testing, after going through the schools hoops successfully feeling very confident about testing after them filling my head with if you can pass ours, you breeze through theirs. I scored a 65%, very frustrating, but after putting in so much time, I have to complete this, I just finished reading ICND1 802 and the new books are 10 fold easier to understand as it throws in real scenarios that are current compared to 801 having definitions and technologies that are out of date. So not sure how you should start, but i will tell you the new books are easier to understand and more relevant to the new technologies.

Good luck

Kip

howtonetwork Mon, 11/05/2007 - 00:00

Hi,

Keep your chin up. We all fail exams from time to time. The benefit to you is you will be passing the new exam and will know lots more than you would have if you just passed the 640-801

I have posted all the new content on www.howtonetwork.net or if you just want to do a practise exam testing the new topics only I have posted the Free 640-802 topics only upgrade exam below:

http://www.howtonetwork.net/public/department33.cfm

All the best

Paul

www.howtonetwork.net

www.subnetting-secrets.com

www.networksinc.co.ukHi,