cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can inspection do this or do I need IDS?

patrick.peters
Level 1
Level 1

We have an ASA 5520 and I'm new to the inspection features of the IOS (version 7.2(2)).

I've got someone occasionally taking a brute force login attack to our FTP server. It always originates from a different IP address, so it's difficult to shun unless you happen to catch it in progress. I'd like to teach the ASA to shun the source IP address after some number of failed login attempts to the FTP server.

I haven't found a way to use application inspection to detect a failed login attempt to the FTP server, but I'm new to this kind of inspection. Am I missing something in the capabilities of the ASA or do I need an IDS to detect the threat and then tell the ASA to stomp on it?

Thanks

Patrick

9 Replies 9

rajbhatt
Level 3
Level 3

Hi Patrick,

Try creating a class map with a policy map that would be bound to teh service policy and open a port for inspection :

access-list global_mpc extended permit tcp any any eq 21

class-map TCP-traffic

match access-list global_mpc

policy-map global-policy

class TCP-traffic

set connection timeout embryonic 0:05:00

Raj

Hi Raj,

Thanks for the suggestion. I want to make sure I understand what it's doing.

I looks like you're applying a connection timeout to the ftp traffic. If I understand the timeout correctly, this would take care of connections that haven't fully formed yet (that's the embryonic, right?). If so, I'm not sure that will catch my tormentor. If he's tryinig to log into the ftp server, that connection is fully formed from a TCP standpoint. It's the ftp layer that's embryonic, not the tcp layer.

Am I missing something?

Thanks

Pat

Hi Patrick,