CCNA question

Unanswered Question
Nov 16th, 2007

Hi Gures' I am new to Networking field. Need help on topic. If I want to connect two hubs together, which cable 1.straight through 2.cross , is used? I mean what is the rule for connecting a pc to a hub or switch, or switch with switch? Sorry for silly question????Thanks for reply...

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 4.5 (4 ratings)
vgruiavgruia Sat, 11/17/2007 - 17:58

Since a hub is a stupid device, it has no switching/routing intelligence, the question is what are you connecting to the other end of the two hubs? the hub is just a continuation of what you are starting. ex: 1 pc at the end of one hub, another at the other end of hub 2. in this case you will need a cross over. make sense?

ellis_b Sat, 11/17/2007 - 21:54

it's not a silly question at all.

for two hubs, use a xover

for a hub to a switch, use a xover

for a switch to a switch, use a xover

for a pc to a switch, use a straight through

for a pc to a hub, use a straight through

for a pc to a pc, use a xover.

that being said, some of the newer cisco switches will auto-detect and take care of the xover for you if you use a straight through cable.

thanks,

Brad Ellis

CCIE#5796 (R&S / Security)

CCSI# 30482

CEO / President

CCBOOTCAMP - A Cisco Sponsored Organization (SO)

Email: brad AT ccbootcamp.com

Toll Free: 877-654-2243

Direct: +1-702-968-5100 = Outside the USA

FAX: +1-702-446-8012

YES! We take Cisco Learning Credits!

Training And Remote Racks: http://www.ccbootcamp.com

tahir1234 Sun, 11/18/2007 - 09:04

Thanks ellis. Once again, mean that I should remember this stuff and will have to check which device is going with which, or we can make a general rule for this? thanks for reply.

tahir1234 Sun, 11/18/2007 - 09:06

Ellis You did mention about what cable we will use from a pc to router ethernet , means xover or straight....thanks

LordFlasheart Sun, 11/18/2007 - 10:33

Hi,