Problem of EIGRP

Unanswered Question
Nov 26th, 2007

Hi my seniors, I am new in networking field and preparing for lab have three router

r1,r2,r3. s0 of r1 is connected with s0 of r2. s1 of r2 is connected with s1 of r3.

r1=s0=, lo0=

r2=s0=, lo0=

r2=s1=, lo1=

r3=s1=, lo0=

network is working fine.but the lo0 of r3 is not being advertised by eigrp. I checked "sh ip route" on r1 and on r2 but this loopback was not there. when i changed the network command on r3 to without giving mask, i noted that now it is being advertised through r3 and on other router it is being shown,,,,I think the actual problem is in giving my network command, but I dont know what was the actual concern.

The other problem is about a message that I noted during my configuration. Message"neighbor, not on common subnet for s1" when i tried to configure the router with different addresses....thanks for reply....

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 4.7 (3 ratings)
yclee_peter88 Mon, 11/26/2007 - 19:36

Hi, like you said the actual problem is in giving the network command, but you dont know what was the actual concern. Here are some of my suggestions for the CCNA exam and real life production network :

1) When you put in the EIGRP network statement, the router is looking for network range from to which is non-existence. The correct statement should be " " which will cover IP range from to

2) When you changed the network command on r3 to without giving mask, the router will auto summarize it to classful network of /16, before announcing it to other neighbors, the router make sure there is at least one subnet present in the routing table, which is in this case.

3) When configuring IP addressing for point-to-point serial connection, try to use the smallest subnet possible to save IP address space. Instead of using /24 (, it is recommend to use /30 as you only need two IP addresses for any point-to-point link.