PIX and ASA

Unanswered Question
Nov 28th, 2007

Hello,

I'm very interested in learning Cisco, specifically for small business and for companies with less that 100 users +/-. I would like to learn how to configure the routers for setup/install/troubleshooting - opening/closing ports etc - vpn site-site to site configurations etc. I know there are many different types of Cisco Routers/Firewalls and I'm not sure which one to start with but I figured probably PIX 501 since being a small business consultant this firewall is common in these situations.

I have no time now for classroom training so I would like to know if there are any good books for total beginners with Cisco?

I have 10 years experience with networking and know how to configure any 3rd party router/firewall and have some decent experience with MS ISA 2004.

What would you recommend I should do? Are there any virtual labs I can use that will simulate the PIX? Also what about ASA, should I start with that instead of PIX?

Thanks!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 4 (8 ratings)
kevin.jones1 Wed, 11/28/2007 - 12:40

For routers, switches and Access Points, Cisco

is an excellent solution. In terms of

security devices, cisco is a horrible solution.

I would go with Checkpoint firewalls and Juniper

for IPS solutions and RSA SecurID for two-factor

identity management.

ccbootcamp Thu, 11/29/2007 - 07:52

Don't go with a pix501, look at the ASA5505, it will run the latest code (the pix501 wont). if you have more than 25-50 users, take a look at the asa5510 dependind on what you're trying to accomplish. The asa5510 w/ the IPS blade is a great security solution.

If you want some security technology hands on practice and labs, check out our security technology workbook:

www.ccbootcamp.com/cciesecuritylw-tech.html

ttyl

brad

www.ccbootcamp.com

SteveDexter Thu, 11/29/2007 - 13:03