Views
Helpful
Replies

Routing question....

AuxMax001
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to networking so be patient.

I have a 2811 router with two Fast Ethernet ports. I've setup inter-vlan routing with dot1q on fa 0/1. I've got a DSL router/modem that will be plugged into FA 0/0. The DSL modem/router is handing out 192.168.2.x addresses whereas I'm using 10.x.x.x. I've disable the DSL router's DHCP server and staticly assigned fa 0/0 a 192.168.2.x IP.

I've turned on RIP v2 on Fa 0/1 and set Fa 0/0 to passive. I can ping the 192 address I assigned on Fa 0/0 from the PC, but can not ping the gateway on the DSL router (192.168.2.1), nor can I get to the internet.

I know I'm missing something...any advice would be very helpful.

7 Replies 7

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi

It sounds like your DSL modem router does not have a route back to your 10.x.x.x addresses.

Try adding a route to your DSL modem/route for 10.x.x.x with the next hop of fa0/0's ip address - 192.168.2.x ?

You say you have turned on RIPv2. Is the DSL router running RIPv2 ?

Jon

Might be tough to add a route.

The DSL modem/router is a rebranded Zyxel P-660R. It's a pretty simple residental device, with no apparent CLI (will double check).

Also, from the console, I can ping the ZyXEL device (and everything else), but not from the PC.

I'm running RIP V2 on both devices (Zyxel has a v2 broadcast and multicast..I've set it to multicast).

Thanks

You may be facing a routing problem as Jon stated but also you will be facing a NAT issue.

Often SOHO devices only allow one network in their NAT table (regularly 192.168.1.x/24 - in your case 192.168.2.x/24)

If you really want to make this work, I suggest purchasing a DSL interface for the 2811 router and place the router as the edge device.

I think Edison is right.