the error control works in timeslots mode or unframed, for example,

someone told me that setting it in unframed mode, the error control

is done on the serial, but if I configure it as timeslots the error

control in done at the controller.

I'm interested in knowing this because I'm studying a case

of a flap on a interface and trying to understand where can be the

problem, so because of the lack of technical information about the

controller <-> serial relationship sometimes is difficult to find the

problem, for example, I found an eigrp flap on the serial X (retry time exceed) that I have a suspect that maybe it could have problems (I some the interface resets on the counters) , but on the log of the router I see only the flap of the neighbor but not a flap on the serial or controller, is possible that setting the keepalive lower, the serial could sense the problem going down, but if there is a problem at electrical level, is possible that I don't see a flap of the controller?...

how is the reaction time of the controller, is more reactive the serial

modifying the keepalive?...Which counters internally the controllers take in

account to go down?...

About the counters (sh controllers e1), is another history, for know I'm focused in understand how is the data flow internally from controller to the serial and if it's possible to have flaps that I will only see on the serial and not on the controller.

Sorry about to much questions and I will apreciate so much

your help!

Best Regards

10 Replies 10

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Yes you can have flaps only on interface and not on the controller.

This can happen for multiple reasons, for example the circuit becomes interrupted somewhere in the middle, but the "tails" are OK, so you will see no errors at controller level.

Many SP don't care about reflecting the true state of the circuit at E1 level, due to the way their network is arranged.