Views
Helpful
Replies

To anyone who understands OSPF!

PDEdwards
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I am currently studying OSPF and would be very grateful if anyone could clear up some confusion for me.

I have read that a Designated Router is selected per ethernet segment (i.e per subnet). Now in an ethernet environment say with 4 routers in an area there will likely be a minimum of 4 ethernet segments linking them. In this situation surely that means there are 4 DRs within a single area but there is only supposed to be one DR in an area to save LSA overhead. Must all routers within an area be connected by a single segment? I've read several expalnations and it's still no clearer to me so would really appreciate someone clearing this up!

Regards

Paul

9 Replies 9

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi Paul

OSPF elects a DR and BDR on an ethernet network per ethernet segment not per area. So for example if you have 100 ethernet segments within an area you will end up with 100 DR's and BDR's.

DR and BDR save LSA overheads because on any segments there can be multiple OSPF speaking routers. By electing a DR/BDR and only sending LSA updates to the DR which then propogates them you are saving on LSA overhead. You are also more importantly saving on every router on an ethernet segement having to an adjacency with every other router. They only need to have adjacencies with the DR and BDR.

Hope this has helped

Jon

Thanks for your reply Jon.

From what you've said then the election of a DR and BDR will only save LSA overhead if there are more than 2 routers on an ethernet segment (a DR, BDR and 2 DRothers) If there are only 2 routers on the segment they will need to form an adjacency anyway so there would be no benefit in electing a DR?

Is the preferred design in ethernet to have lots of routers conected by one ethernet segment?? because (in my experience) I can't envisage a situation where this is practical.