Security Design Guide

Unanswered Question
Dec 23rd, 2007

I studying computer science and working as a system engineer / it-consultant. At the moment I am helping a customer (200 employees) to secure his network. He is afraid of attacks from the internet. Specially he is afraid of hackers which could break into the corporate network and steal secret documents like CAD data and then fabricate imitations.

Now I am looking for a Design Guide which covers all aspects of defending such threats. The customer has an ids and a firewall. So I think we should focus more on the security inside the corporate network. My idea is to separate the CAD-network from the whole corporate network, using vlan, port security ...

Because I am new to cisco there are certainly many more aspects I could consider in making this network more secure. So I am looking for some Cisco Design Guides or other help to secure this network.

best regards and merry xmas

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
JORGE RODRIGUEZ Sun, 12/23/2007 - 07:43

Benjamin, your idea is good if indeed you want to protect cad network from the rest. We do the same in isolating one ouf our departments which holds sensitive servers thus requering access which is granted by request,we do this by firewalling it. You could also consider Private vlan, personally I have not used PVLANs but from what I have read it has few limitations, for example PVLAN provides protection at L2 but you can use VACL in conjunction with PVLANs to truly overcome this limitation thus providing L3 control when using PVLAN.