Getting off the ground

Unanswered Question

Good afternoon gentlemen. I am a 10 year veteran of IT with 3 solid years in VOIP consulting. The last company I worked for was a partner with ATT which provided them with a steady stream of IPT projects which kept buried as a solutions engineer. I decided to break free of this model and decided to go off on my own. I have been in contact with companies such as ATT, Global Crossing, Berbee, etc, but have been running into the same issue, you have great skills and bring lots of promise, but, you are too small. Can anyone provide any pointers on how to break the sales barrier to start a relationship with a high-end vendor or direct marketing techniques to let people know who I am, what I offer and how I can improve their bottom line? By far, engineering is easy to me but sales is kicking my butt.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
scottmac Tue, 12/25/2007 - 13:57

For the sake of staying active and getting word-of-mouth promotion, I'd suggest finding some charity or not-for-profit group and offer them "as-available" or discount support / work.

Frequently there are corporate mucky mucks affiliated with the charities and it gives them a view of your working abilities. At the least, you have some references from a (hopefully) trustworthy source.

Be advised that while "no work" is the worse case, a close second (for a single person shop) is "too much work." You will run yourself into the ground, and, as Murphey would have it, they will all be absolutely critical projects.

In that light, I'd also suggest that in your discussions with the other shops, you try to establish a partnership with them to handle your "overflow" business.

The fact that you are presenting them with the possibility, and that you are working to cover your butt for that eventuality may promote you in their view.