cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Please help me choose the right router.

bradfirestone
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to professional (not consumer) networking and need help determining if I'm looking at the right products. Here is what I need to do:

We're looking at putting a video conference MCU, Asterisk Sever, and HTTP, FTP server in a colocation facility. Bandwidth will be delivered on a 10Mb/sec or 100Mb/sec ethernet port. I don't estimate bandwidth to exceed 10Mb/sec at any time in the next three years.

I want to provide SSL VPN for mobile users to access the MCU from behind airport/hotel/home firewalls.

I believe that the 1811/1812 routers may provide what I need but I seem to find conflicting information on Cisco's site. This may just be because I don't know what I'm looking at or maybe some things have changed with later software releases. Here are my main points of confusion:

1. Will the WAN ports work for this implementation? A lot of the configuration info deals with xDSL. Speed info states things like "up to broadband speeds". Will this router work at WAN up to symmetric 10Mb/sec?

2. SSL VPN - I've read two free licenses/purchase license for up to 10 users. I've also read up to 50 VPN tunnels. Is the 50 for IPSec only? Will the 1811/1812 only support 10 SSL VPN users at once? If I need more that 10 SSL VPN connections, do I need to go to the 1841?

Is there another router that would be better for my needs? If I need to go with the 1841, which modules would I need as a minimum?

One final question. Memory - what circumstances warrant or require additional memory?

Thanks for any advise you can give!

7 Replies 7

paolo bevilacqua
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

it would be better, much better, if you could stretch to a 1841 or 2801. That would give you possibility of hardware upgrade, including a better VPN hardware module, memory, voice interfaces and features, etc.