Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Routing algorithm research

Sir, I am a PhD student at the University of Oklahoma and am working on solving the Snake-in-the-Box problem for multidimensional hypercubes. Several papers I have read report that good solutions to this problem can be used in the development of network routing algorithms. However, I can find no further information on this topic. I would like to know if anyone at Cisco can enlighten me on this, or perhaps point me to a paper that explains the connection between these two. Thank you for your help.

7 Replies 7

Danilo Dy
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Have you tried IEEE http://ieeexplore.ieee.org

Regards,

Dandy

Yes, this helped a lot. Thank you.

marikakis
Level 7
Level 7

Hello,

What do "network routing algorithms" mean to you and to the authors of the several papers you have read?

The answer might be obvious to most networking professionals in this forum, and people here by this phrase usually mean a protocol like OSPF, BGP and the like (I will not attempt to supply a definition).

However, some hardware research people have the (annoying I must say :-) habit of naming other kinds of methods as network routing algorithms. Those hardware people usually name like this methods that decide how to establish a hardware/wire path along two endpoints by turning transistors on and off in a Network On a Chip or something like that, which, in this forum's terminology, would be considered methods that involve more the "switching" rather than the "routing" part (this could be a pretty religious discussion).

The magic phrase "multidimensional hypercube" rings a hardware bell to me (plus my opinion that one would not expect with hypercubes and stuff like that to have some luck against OSPF, BGP, and friends in the near future).