cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

classless vs classful

tahir1234
Level 1
Level 1

Hi seniors, Asking a stupid question,,,sorry I am new to networking...

HOw can we judge that this is a classful or classless IP Network, say 10.0.0.0/26 is ,according to book, classful but in my knowledge 10.0.0.0/8 is classful...whereas mentioned earlier is classless...is there any cisco document for this point..is this true for the classful ip protocols vs classless ip protocols..i mean how they send their update differently....thanks for help

6 Replies 6

keeleym
Level 5
Level 5

Hi There

IMHO you are correct.

Classful networks use the network mask for the class they are part of.

Classless networks can use masks other that the mask assigned to the class the network is part of.

AS you say in you mail, 10.0.0.0/8 is classful where as 10.0.0.0/26 is indeed classless.

I am not sure I understand what you mean about classful/classless IP protocols?

Best Regards & Best wishes for 2008 and beyond,

Michael

Michael

I believe that what Sohail was talking about is that we categorize certain routing protocols (especially RIPv1 and IGRP) as classful and other protocols (such as OSPF and EIGRP) as classless. The classful routing protocols adhere to certain principles such as all subnets being the same size, all subnets within a network being contiguous, and automatic summarization at network boundaries. The classless routing protocols support VLSM, support discontiguous subnets, and support manual control of summarization.