What are some good CCNP books

Unanswered Question
Jan 2nd, 2008

I'm just starting my path into the CCNP, and I see a much MUCH larger library of books out there for this test than there were for the CCNA. What books are recommended if you are coming from the CCNA into the CCNP? I see there are self-study guides and exam guides from Cisco, but which should I use? Any recommendation would be appreciated. I also may go down the CCIP route instead, but the first test is the same in each I figure. Thanks.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)

Hi There

I am also studying for my CCNP having passed my CCNA last April.

In my opinion some good books to look at (and these are what I am now using myself) are

1. Routing TCP/IP by Jeff Doyle Vol 1 (2nd edition)

2. Routing TCP/IP by Jeff Doyle Vol 2 (2nd edition)

3. Internet Routing Architectures by Sam Halabi (2nd Edition)

4. CCIE Routing and Switching By Wendell Odom (3rd edition)

All four books are geared twoards the CCIE written exam, however I have heard from some people who have taken the CCIE written that a lot of the CCIE written topics are what they covered in the CCNP, just more detail. Also the CCIE written is a way of recertifying your CCNP.

I did start of with the BSCI self study guide and exam certification guide, however as these are specifically for the BSCI they only cover enough for the BSCI course. Now this might be enough for some people and they are certainly good books whcih have decent lab scenarios to practice if you have a home lab or rent rack time online.