CCENT/ICND1 Training Prep and equipment

Answered Question
Jan 5th, 2008

Hi Folks,

Im 19 and have been reading the ICND1 book by Wendall Odem to prepare for the 640-822 exam. I understand the basic principles within the book but have heard that the exam itself requires you to setup and configure a newtork.

I have tried to find a simulator but as of yet have not found one that seems to be of any use. People have suggested buying routers of ebay and set up a home lab but I am very short on cash.

I know this question has been asked loads of times and I have looked at the replies but I am still a little confused. What is the best preperation to have for the CCENT exam with a limited budget and will the simulators give enough practice in order to be able to pass the exam? If so could anyone recommend a good simulator which I could use?

If I have to buy routers and equipment, which equipment would you recommend?

Thanks in advance

Luke

Hi Luke

For what it's worth I studied for the single CCNA exam from about Aug 2006 and passed the exam in March/April 2007. I initially started with a Sybex book which came with a simulator on a CD. I found this software fairly basic but the book author also provided a link to a supposedly better simulator package which I also purchased.

This package was better but I still found

a. Bugs which prevented me from completing a lab

b. Commands which were not available, again preventing lab completion

c. Commands which gave incorrect output, not helpful when you are studying a new technology.

I searched around the web and in the end I ended up with about 5 different simulator packages, one of which was marketed towards CCNP, but all had some if not all of the issues I listed above. I had spent a fair amount of money by this time.