CCNA / CCENT

Unanswered Question
Jan 7th, 2008

Hello, Im 32 and currently in the process of a career change. Im a broadcast engineer (radio / TV ) for the last 8 years with quite limited IT knowledge even though lately due to issues I am now the system admin.

I was wondering, before I check into CCNA or CCENT certs, is there something like a basic networking class I should have? or is that gone over with those certifications? Over the last year I have only learned thru trial n error and havent learned much "properly". Money isnt a issue if it will help make a transition into the IT field easier.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
dbeare Mon, 01/07/2008 - 08:34

I'd highly recommend taking a CCNA course via a Cisco Learning Partner or through the Cisco Network Academy, if you don't have much of a background in the area.

sicilyeng Tue, 01/08/2008 - 01:22

Thanks for the fast replies and yup that helps.

Looking into the A+ overview, I noticed thats pretty much the extent of my knowledge. But is the certificate from A+ a big deal? A couple extra ?months? for an A+ cert to help get a better job is fine. Ive been out of the USA for almost 9 years so im a bit cloudy of how things are.

Really, I have the next 8 months of almost unlimited study time since im stationed in Sicily and so far I havent seen any pure online ways of doing A+, Net+, CCNA or CCENT without needing a classroom.

I just want to be fully prepared in 8 months to get back to the United States and be able to start a life in a new career, or at least make my life that much easier when going for my CCNA certificate.

Thanks

dbeare Thu, 01/10/2008 - 07:13