CCIE - how to prepare for lab

Unanswered Question

I am looking toward my CCIE R&S certification, but am a little stuck on how to prepare for the lab portion. I have 5 years experience and all but one of the CCxP certs, and have passed the written. I have a decent lab and a stack of the CCIE books, but I'm not sure they provide enough material. Several companies out there sell lab prep workbooks. Is this the way to go? Can anyone offer any other advice? Thanks!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
jcrussell Mon, 01/07/2008 - 11:31

I bought one of the well known vendor workbooks. I spent 11.5 hours each Saturday on that same vendor's rack rentals. I then spent 20+ hours that week going over what I missed in the labs and doing mini labs on my rack at work. All in all, I spent 30+ hours a week from February to July doing rack practice.

Good luck with your lab!

dangal.43 Mon, 01/07/2008 - 12:13

Hi,

so you started directly on masters lab or started with small technologies lab?

as if we started work on masterlab we need to use the solution guide right!!!

Edison Ortiz Thu, 01/10/2008 - 06:34

Yes, you need those Lab Prep Workbooks for your CCIE. That's the only way to improve your speed and determine your weakness. You will be surprised how many different topics, you thought you knew pretty well but not at the CCIE level.

I also recommend going thru some mock-labs and Cisco Assessor Tool.

HTH,

__

Edison.

mohammedmahmoud Thu, 01/10/2008 - 06:47

Hi Jim,

To add to my colleagues comments, i'd recommend that if you can get multiple vendor labs (or even multiple vendors mock-labs beside a main lab workbook from a single vendor) it would be better than using a single vendor, in order to be adaptable with different methods of wordings and topology presentation and thoughts.

BR,

Mohammed Mahmoud.

Kevin Dorrell Thu, 01/10/2008 - 07:11