Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX 501 and Actiontec DSL

as1207dc01
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, hi, hi

I am new to Cisco product, the business I work for is small business and we use other cheaper netwok gears. By 2009 we are planning to move to a new building, by then IT will make a switch to Cisco products including VOIP. Just to get ready for 2009 network gear upgrade we have bought PIX 501 and catalyst 2950 to build our lab, routers will be coming soon. Here is my question, I found info on line and configured the PIX, I am able to get IP address from it (DHCP) but unable to go online. The DSL which is infront of the pix is a gateway but I am unable to set the gateway on the pix, unable to remove the http address + unable to log on using http, unable to delete/remove access list, ip local loop, and vpn group. For more info please the attached config. Hey, I don't mind starting from scratch, I tried it once but didn't remove all the config for some reaseon...I really do appreciate your help.

Thank you,

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Sorry, I steped out and need to do it again but will come back.

Do this on commmand line , also you can do this through PDM.. bring up the interface outside , assuming you are using dynamic IP given from ISP provider, if static please let me know as you have to configure static ip on outside interface if static.If not static and Dynamic do this process.

pix>enable

config t

ip address outside dhcp retry 10

once you have enter this configuration do show interface to see if outside interface has obtained dynanic IP address, and write down the ip address, if you are successfull then you need to place a defaul route in pix.

e.g

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 x.x.x.x 1

where x.x.x.x is ISP router next hop address.

If you are using static then just as you configured an IP address for inside interface configure the outside interface with the Ip address the ISP gave you for your outside interface.