cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

AutoCAD traffic using WAAS

mitchellkj
Level 1
Level 1

We installed WAAS last year. We see improvements with file acceleration with Microsoft based files, but no improvement with AutoCAD files. It still remains slooooow. I have even setup a preposition job for AutoCAD 'content' and all of our projects.

I'm running 4.0.15.b.6 on all my WAE devices.

Any help would be appreciated.

This is my first time using this forum so if my conversation needs to be moved to the correct forum, please do.

Thanks, KM

4 Replies 4

Danilo Dy
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Hi,

Are you trying to open the drawing file/s online or just transfer the file/s across WAAS?

BTW, the proper forum for WAAS is "Networking Professionals > Data Center > Application Networking"

Regards,

Dandy

I'm trying to open the files directly within AutoCAD. So it would be online, not a transfer. I guess it depends on if WAAS is performing correctly.

Is there a way to view if WASS is serving up the prepositioned files ??

KM

Hi,

I haven't use WAAS for some reason :). But yes, it depends on the WAAS. There are people who might suggest an alternative (i.e. CITRIX), but to my experience, only a WAN optimization device can solve your problem because of the file sharing protocol that AutoCAD uses to open and save file to/from server.

Regards,

Dandy