Views
Helpful
Replies

View detailed router statistics

seth.miller
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm an admin for a small company and we have a T1 for our internet connection.

When viewing SNMP graphs I see that our T1 is filled to capacity 80% of the day. We only have about 20 employees and the traffic should just consist of email, web traffic, and shell access.

I'd like to view statistics per local IP address on our router (2621). I'm still getting the hang of the Cisco thing but with Unix or Linux I'd be able to use something like iptraf to view these stats based on traffic usage to pinpoint the bandwidth hog. Can these stats be seen by the router and if so, how?

My last resort is to stick a Linux firewall in between the router and switch.

Regards,

Seth Miller

8 Replies 8

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Seth

There are several options that you can consider which might give you the information that you want. My first suggestion would be to enable NetFlow on the router. Cisco will generate statistics about the network traffic. One of the attractive things is that you can configure the router to dynamically identify the top talkers in the network. I believe that this is the easiest way to get what you want. There are also NetFlow analyzers that can go through the detailed NetFlow statistics and can provide more detailed analysis of the network traffic.

You could also consider configuring IP accounting on the router. This will also generate information which can help you to identify who is generating the most traffic.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Hi Rick-

Just a quick question on Netflow: I'm using PRTG as my collector but it seems the stats I'm getting is inaccurate.

Is this just a question of the frequency my router is sending info to the collector? Is there a way for the router to make this more frequent?

I'm only using version 5 since that's what PRTG only supports.

Thanks.

Robert