cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PIX 501 VPN

as1207dc01
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I just got my PIX configured based on the clear/great instruction I have recieved from one of you this morning. Now, I am trying to set up VPN, I looked at Cisco site (http://cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/prod_configuration_examples_list.html#anchor14) but could not figure out which one I need to follow. Would you please send me the instruction or link to set up vpn? By the way, I don't have the vpn client to test my vpn, how do I get that? As you can understand from my question I am new to cisco gears...thank you.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

pjhenriqs
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am guessing that you need one of these two VPNs.

- Remote access VPN: where remote users can use Cisco VPN client to access the company resources

- Site-to-site VPN: where two IPSEC capable devices establish a VPN tunnel, allowing internal LANs from different endpoints (offices) to communicate.

You can find both examples on the url you gave.

If it's remote access, I would look at

http://cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_configuration_example09186a0080702992.shtml

And then look also at how to configure split tunneling, so the user at home can access the corporate resources AND the Internet.

For the site-to-site VPN, it depends if your other device is a PIX/ASA or a Router.

Hope it helps,

Paulo

View solution in original post

6 Replies 6

pjhenriqs
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am guessing that you need one of these two VPNs.

- Remote access VPN: where remote users can use Cisco VPN client to access the company resources

- Site-to-site VPN: where two IPSEC capable devices establish a VPN tunnel, allowing internal LANs from different endpoints (offices) to communicate.

You can find both examples on the url you gave.

If it's remote access, I would look at

http://cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_configuration_example09186a0080702992.shtml