cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

877W, SDM Express and getting it going...

davidrawle
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am a network engineer and am trying to commission my very first Cisco - an 877W.

I have run into a major problem with SDM Express.

SDM Express starts up and runs fine. I answer all the questions properly and end up at the confirmation page. Everything is checked and I click 'Finish'.

That's it - one dead router.

It says it takes a while to load, so left it for 30 mins and power cycled it. None of the configuration I entered is in there, it's still a factory default.

Tried it on 2 PCs - Win XP Pro SP2, no firewall, no anti-virus. LAN cable (tried a few of those).

Tried it in IE and Firefox on both machines.

Tried a new power supply.

Tried it on Linux and Mac - doesn't like either of those.

Anyone had the same or got a fix? Is it the router or SDM?

I have had a replacement router - both behave the same way.

(My reseller is foxed and Cisco don't offer support :-()

Thanks,

David

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Well, you are almost there.

if you paste the below, that will simplify the configuration. radio is keep shut as you are worried about it.

I've put a port forwarding for 8080 outside to 80 inside. If you have more addresses router and what expose a a full host, it's a single line command too.

ip dhcp pool sdm-pool1

no import all

dns-server 195.74.113.58 195.74.113.62

!

!

interface FastEthernet0

spanning-tree portfast

!

interface FastEthernet1

spanning-tree portfast

!

interface FastEthernet2

spanning-tree portfast

!

interface FastEthernet3

spanning-tree portfast

!

interface Dot11Radio0

shutdown

!

interface Dialer0

ppp ipcp route-default

interface BVI1

no ip access-group 100 in

no ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Dialer0

!

no ip http server

no access-list 100

ip nat inside source static tcp 192.168.7.20 80 interface BVI1 8080