cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Identical pix501 configs, but one won't work

markbednarz
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to firewalls, so please excuse my ignorance. My company has several PIX 501 firewalls in place for a SCADA project. We have 2 more to add in. I have used the same configuration from one of the known-good PIXs for my new PIXs aside from putting the correct inside/outside IP addresses, access-lists and PDMs. I cannot ping the new PIX (inside/outside IP addresses) nor can the new PIX ping anything beyond it's own inside/outside IP addresses. As I said, everything is identical, so I'm not sure what is wrong. Can anyone offer any suggestions?

Thanks in advance,

-=Mark

12 Replies 12

JORGE RODRIGUEZ
Level 10
Level 10

Mark, you did not say where are you pinging from, if you console to the pix can you ping its interfaces? can you post output status for the inside & outside interfaces. From within pix issue" show interfaces" and post info, could you also provide physical connectivity information such as where does PIX inside interface connects to e.g. switch , vlans.. , as well as outside interface ect..

Rgds

Jorge

Jorge Rodriguez

Hi Jorge,

The pix is sitting on my desk, and I am trying to ping it from my computer across the network back to the PIX. I try to ping from the PIX using my HyperTerminal through the console cable into the PIX. Putting the PIX in the correct building makes no difference. The PIX cannot ping anything inside or outside. As far as the infrastructure between my computer and a PIX that is working correctly, my computer goes to a switch in my building to a router in my building, across a T1 to the remote building into it's router, then it's switch and then into the remote PIX. I have tried this with my PIX that won't work and have brought it back to my desk to try to figure out what the problem is.

The attached text is the "Show Interface" information.